Wrapping Up a Trilogy – Review of The Midwife’s Dilemma

midwifesdilemmaBook information – The Midwife’s Dilemma

Author – Delia Parr

Publication Information – Bethany House (April 2016, $9.99 digital, $5.52 print)

Reading Challenge book? No.

As readers of this blog may know, I enjoyed the previous two books in Delia Parr’s At Home in Trinity trilogy, set in 1830s Pennsylvania.  The heroine, Martha Cade, is a widow with grown children and I have enjoyed seeing her navigate the challenges of faith and life as a midwife in what can sometimes be difficult circumstances.

Throughout the series, we have seen Martha’s evolving relationship with her grown daughter as she moves into adulthood, and we have also seen the evolution of an old friendship with a local widower turn into romantic love. These themes continue throughout this book and eventually get resolved.

I enjoyed seeing how Martha’s sometimes difficult relationship with her daughter unfolded. The shift from child to adult for Victoria brought some strain with Martha, and I was happy to see the two of them learn how to deal with this evolving relationship. My main issues with the book sprang from the relationship between Martha and her (perhaps) intended.

It was obvious that this gentleman loved Martha and wished to marry her, but Martha kept finding reasons to put off making a decision.  I have to admit that I found her protracted dithering quite exasperating.  I could understand that she would not want to marry and leave her community completely devoid of a midwife. However, I felt like she used this as an excuse rather than facing any real hesitations she might have.

Things do eventually get resolved – on all the plotline fronts – though the ending did feel a tad rushed.  Aside from my quibbles with Martha’s treatment of the man courting her, I still enjoyed the book, though I’m not sure I’ll reread it. Rating: 3 stars

*Note: A free copy of this book was provided to me by the publisher via Netgalley in return for an honest review.*

Leave a Reply

