This Little Light of Mine

lightofmine This little light of mine,
I’m gonna let it shine…
I grew up singing this song and I’ve always enjoyed it. There’s long been a bit of a disconnect, though.

We sing about letting our little lights shine, but when it comes to sharing that good news, we clam up. We’re afraid to offend, afraid to be different from the world around us.

I know that I do it, and it’s something that happens to most of my friends as well.

The fact that we have been saved from death in sin by the grace of God is the most wonderful and amazing news in the world. It should be shared. Heck, we’ve been commanded to share it in Matthew 28, among other places in the Bible.

Now, I’m not saying that all Christians should start handing out tracts on street corners or haranguing passers-by. I’m not entirely sure I’d consider that sharing anyway; that’s more forcing oneself into the lives of strangers.

However, there are so many ways we can share God’s love with the world. Simply treating those around us with love is a start. Letting folks know that you’re praying for them in times of trouble helps, too. When questions about faith and life come up, it takes courage to speak up, but I find that simply mentioning that my faith is what gives me strength has opened the door to many good conversations with friends and acquaintances.

So many discussions of evangelism that I’ve seen take the form of training folks for full-time missionary work. If you are called to be a missionary as your primary vocation, this is great. However, I would love to see more helpful(i.e. practical) instruction for the rest of us on how to share the Gospel with people we encounter day to day. After all, you never know how God might be moving in someone else’s heart!

4 thoughts on “This Little Light of Mine

  1. It is difficult to know how to express our beliefs to those around us (Aside from being a believer in a higher power, I’m also a great believer in the good that meditation can provide to people and I’m ashamed to admit that I’m – more often than not – curtailed, when wanting to tell people IRL about this, because the ‘you’re a weirdo’ looks are often just too daunting….).

    Like

  2. I’m with you. Sharing the gospel overtly is HARD. I shy away from it. I completely believe in living the gospel in how I act, treat others, make decisions, but there are also times when we should be intentional about sharing about Jesus, and the joy we have within us, with others. I’ve really been thinking about this. Glad I’m not the only one. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m always so intrigued how with one word (share) we can each write something so different. I absolutely love the reference to “this little light of mine”. What a great read!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

