My 2016? Accountable

I’m not a big New Year’s resolutions person. Never have been.  However, I did find myself getting pensive at year’s end and thinking about what I want for 2016.

I love God, my family, my church and my community, and I want to keep growing in service to them. And I love reading and writing. This past year, I’ve actually been quite good on the reading.  The writing?  Not so much.

And that’s where accountability comes in. So, here it is. I’m going to be bold and actually state my intentions out here where everyone can read them – In 2016, I am going to review AT LEAST 1 book each week.  And I’m also going to do a reading challenge and finish it.

For my reading challenge, I chose the 2016 Reading Challenge over at challies.com. This challenge has 4 levels, and there’s also a group dedicated to it at Goodreads. The old me would dive in and say, “I’m going to be an Obsessed reader and go to the max on this one.” However, the realistic me knows that I have obligations and relationships to nurture. So, baby steps. I’m going to commit to the Avid reader challenge.  That’s 26 challenge books, plus time for me to read and discover to some fine, new-to-me books that may not fit under the challenge umbrella.

And readers? Feel free to nudge me gently if I’m slacking off. Hold me accountable.

What are you all looking forward to reading in 2016?

2 thoughts on “My 2016? Accountable

  1. Great to see you back! I hope that you have a wonderful reading year. I’m definitely interested in following along with your discoveries.

    Like

  2. I also love reading! Right now, many of the books are all previews for our homeschool. However, I have been getting in some bit and pieces with some Elizabeth George Proverbs 31 books as well as some health/herbal books. Thank you for sharing this week on the Art of Home-Making Mondays! We are glad to have you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

