That Thing With Feathers

feather

“Hope is the thing with feathers-
That perches in the soul-
And sings the tune without the words-
And never stops-at all”

The first stanza of that Emily Dickinson poem is one of the first things that pops into my mind every time I think of hope. The other that pops into my mind is Hebrews 11:1, “Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.” And somehow in all the wandering of all my travels, I just knew that the thing that perched in my soul was the Holy Spirit. That still small voice telling me I am an adopted child of a Holy Father, that I can trust Him, that I can dare to hope.

People speak of a dark night without stars and of places so black you cannot even see the shadows. I’ve known difficulties and I’ve seen darkness, but even in the very darkest times, hope has shown a light. And when I’ve focused on that faint little light, it’s grown brighter. To me, hope is God’s light shining into our darkness.

Hope is God’s promise that we have a home, a place to hope for that we haven’t seen just yet. Hope is that reminder that what is before us now isn’t done yet.
———–
This piece was written in five minutes (no stops, no editing) for Five Minute Friday. I mostly write about books and reading here, but I love having my Fridays to just glory in the beauty of letting myself wander whereever the words take me.

6 thoughts on “That Thing With Feathers

  1. I love the quote by Emily Dickenson, and also your thoughts about hope being a light given to us by God that gets brighter the more we focus on it. I hope you have a lovely weekend.

    Like

  2. Amy,
    nice to meet you! (Visiting from FMF at #71) That is a lovely quote. I also appreciate your word choice that you “dare” to hope! 🙂 Daring, courageous, strong, persevering. That is a brilliant way to describe hope! I’m so glad I read your words today.
    Love,
    Tammy

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love that Emily Dickinson poem, Amy. Thanks for your words on hope. I didn’t know you wrote about books and reading usually. I will have to check your blog out. 🙂 I love books, just don’t have as much time for them as I’d like!

    Like

  4. Hi Amy!

    Nice to meet you!
    I love how God brings light to our dark times and fills our hearts with hope. How often have I walked through valleys, where I felt I was making no movement. In the darkness my hope was to lay where I was and cry out to God for His help. He always came and it always brought me into a deeper love relationship with Him.
    Hope is freedom to reach for all He has for us and become who He made us to be!

    enjoyed your hope filled post.

    Kimmie
    mama to 8
    one homemade and 7 adopted

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

