How I Love My Childhood Favorites!

Stacks of books

Stacks of books

Favorite books….
Just thinking of their titles brings back a wealth of memories and emotions for me.

I remember seeing Beatrix Potter’s books for the first time, sitting in the windowseat and letting my eyes just soak up the pictures. I half-listened to the stories at first, but I loved the beautiful illustrations.

There have been so many books I’ve loved. When we moved most recently, I would smile as I saw them emerging from boxes. My much-worn Little House on the Prairie set, What Katy Did, all of my L.M. Montgomery books, my Winnie the Pooh books, the Chronicles of Narnia series, and my Janette Oke books.

As I got older, these were joined by Bodie and Brock Thoene’s Zion books, Shakespeare, great poetry, and novels by Dickens and Austen. And some nonfiction works that also seared my heart and made me think – Knowing God by J.I. Packer, books by Elisabeth Elliot and R.C. Sporul.

I have so many memories and imaginary friends floating in my mind thanks to these books that I have treasured. And there is one that holds constant for me.

For, within my collection, there are Bible storybooks, children’s Bibles, the study Bible I got at 13, and the one my husband gave me.

So many wonderful books, and from one, a guide to so much life in abundance.
————-
I wrote this piece in 5 minutes. It’s a writing exercise that takes my mind into all kinds of interesting corners, and (I hope) strengthens my writing. Best of all, it lets me see beauty in my own unpolished thoughts and those of others. You can find more on 5 minute Friday here.

8 thoughts on “How I Love My Childhood Favorites!

  1. Wonderful! I heartily agree with all of your favorite books! (I used to participate in Five Minute Friday a couple of years ago, and I’m just now getting back to it, but I ran out of time before I could mention books.)

    Like

  2. Well, the Bible is the world’s best seller for a good reason! Yes, I can look back and appreciate many ‘favourites’ that have shaped my life and thinking – but the one I come back to through all the years is God’s word, which is so life changing. What a blessing to have it in our own language, and what a blessing to have been shown them at such an early age.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes! I always loved books as a child, thanks to my father instilling that in me. The Little House series, Winnie the Pooh, Dr Seuss, Ramona the Pest and YES – Janette Oke!! Loved her. Later, I worked to instill the love of books in my kids – Chronicles of Narnia is a top fave.
    And now – Lauraine Snelling is one of my favorites.
    Loved this post – fellow book lovers!

    Like

    • Yay! Always glad to find a fellow book lover. I’ve read Lauraine Snelling in the past, but it’s been a while since I read one of her books. Some of her more recent releases do look tempting, though. Are there any you would recommend in particular?

      Like

  4. You and I have similar tastes in books! As a military wife, we did a lot of moving. We still have floor-to-ceiling book cases in our family room, and they’re pretty much full. I have the books that I read again, and those books that were my friends as I grew up. I think the Bible is my favorite book too. What a fun post you’ve shared!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love how you went with the theme of favorite books. I could have easily joined you in this direction. Little House on the Prairie was one of my favorites and I caught an episode recently on TV and was transported back in time. I loved Nancy Drew and The Hardy Boys (snuck into my brothers’ room to get those). My eyes though have been opened that we have been given the greatest book of all-God’s word laid out in the Bible. That is a treasure that I never get tired of reading because I learn something new every time. Thank you for visiting my blog so I could then return the favor. Happy weekend!

    Like

    • Oh my goodness, Little House on the Prairie! I used to love that show. I haven’t seen an episode in ages, but that would be quite the walk down memory lane for me.

      Hope you have a wonderful weekend, too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

