From My Library: The Honorable Imposter

honorableimposterBook Information- The Honorable Imposter

Author – Gilbert Morris

Publisher – Bethany House (1986, $4.99 digital only; secondhand print copies still readily available)

Those of us who grew up in the 1990s and early 2000s may remember this book. The House of Winslow series was a popular one in just about every Christian household I knew. Telling the story of a family’s faith and history over many generations, the series stretched over 40 books to take the Winslows from colonial America into the 20th century. The books were immensely popular and went through several editions.  Currently, they are not available in print (though copies are easy to find), but you can still buy the digital edition.

I still have almost all the books, and I moved them from home to school, then back home and then off with us when I married.  My husband and I moved a few months ago into what I hope will be our forever house out in the country, and when I came across The Honorable Imposter one day while unpacking, I had to give it a nostalgia read.

This book is definitely worth the trip down memory lane. Starting in 17th-century England, it tells the story of Gilbert Winslow, a man who starts off spying on the religious separatists of his day. He ends up travelling to the New World with them on the Mayflower, and faces a real crisis of conscience – will he stay true to his commission from the government or to his growing faith? Along the way, he falls in love with one of the puritan women, and their story is a touching one.

Ultimately, while I found Humility (Winslow’s love interest) a bit idealized, that didn’t detract from my enjoying the story. I also really liked Gilbert Winslow, and he felt much more multidimensional as a character. His internal struggles kept me reading, as did the external plot action. It was obvious as I read that the author is not only strong in his faith, but also put a great deal of time into researching the background of his story.

Some of my books from childhood and early adulthood have not entirely stood the test of time, but this is one I’m glad I kept.  I’ll have to reread more of this series to see if it lives up to happy memory.  If you’ve never read this series, I definitely recommend picking up The Honorable Imposter. And if you’ve read these books before, you just might want to read it again.

Leave a Reply

