Weekly Reading – May 16, 2015

I’ve found many things of interest online lately, and here are a few I’d like to share:

– R.C. Sproul’s ministry has meant more to me than I can lay out in a short blog post. His many sermons, books, and articles have enhanced my understanding of Scripture and he has a way of explaining difficult concepts to make them understandable.  He recently suffered a stroke, and has been often in my prayers.  I was heartened to read this update on his condition, and continue to pray for him and his family.

This article on the state of the PCA (Presbyterian Church in America) came of great interest to me as this is my denomination. However, this article speaks to greater currents within American culture as well as challenges other churches are facing, so I think this is an article that should get greater circulation outside PCA circles.  Via Challies.com, I also discovered this counterpoint, which I found helpful.  Full disclosure: I tend to lean in the direction of the confessionalists in the PCA, but I do think the original article, with its indictment of pluralism, makes some wonderful points.

– Even though The Art of Work by Jeff Goins sounds as if it may be somewhat flawed, this review still makes me want to read it. After much prayer and good teaching, I am deeply convinced in my heart of hearts that my primary calling is to be a wife and mother, but how should that look for us? Now that’s the struggle that sometimes keeps me up nights. After all, not every woman has the same gifts, so it should follow that God will not call us to all have lives that look alike.

– If you haven’t discovered this baby name popularity widget, you should!  It’s fun to plug in names of friends and family and see what names enjoyed equal popularity across various decades.  Apparently, if I were born today, my name would be Abigail. And if I were born back in my grandmother or great-grandmothers’ eras, I would have been Alice, Anna or Lillian.

– I always enjoy reading or hearing about what causes authors to make the writing choices that they do.  This discussion of how a plot thread can come about as a reaction to a movie seen by the author caught my eye.

– I’ve seen several articles like this one, expressing concern for the Christian fiction market. I sincerely hope that what we’re seeing is temporary. I have read so many good works of fiction over the years, and sometimes the Christian market carries books that the secular market shies away from. I would hate to lose those books, and I think the world would be poorer without that witness.

Leave a Reply

