The Childrens’ Shelf – 14 Months Old

I know I’ve been offline a bit, but I haven’t given up on blogging.  I promise! I just had a series of family emergencies that kept me travelling for several weeks, and away from my reading and writing longer than I would like.

opposites

However, in the midst of a busy, difficult season, I still kept up reading with my son and he has been enjoying his books this month. We’re hitting that stage where he will insist I read a book over and over to him. And one of his favorites to get that treatment this month?  Curious George’s Opposites is a short, sweet dip into the wacky world of Curious George. The illustrations are as charming as ever, and the length is perfect for the toddler attention span.godmakeakittenI discovered Rhonda Gowler Greene’s Only God Can Make a Kitten via a review at The Nerdy Bookworm and picked up a copy for my son’s Easter basket earlier this month. The illustrations are adorable, and the rhyming text on each page gently but clearly conveys the message that God is responsible for all creation. My son is too little to understand the ideas, but he loves the rhythm of the words and it’s a beautiful, gentle way to introduce children to biblical ideas.

whoseearsWhose Ears? is one of those books that doesn’t have much in it by way of text and probably won’t go down as a great classic of children’s literature. However, it does have something that makes a 14 month old very happy. My son is at the point where he isn’t very coordinated, but he does like to try to handle and manipulate things.  So, the giant ear( or antler!) flaps that can be raised and lowered on each page of this book make him quite happy indeed because it’s something he can move as opposed to having me do it for him.

guesshowmuchiloveyouSam McBratney’s Guess How Much I Love You is something of a modern children’s classic. There are also several spinoff books, but this original is an endearing bedtime read. The illustrations are sweet and the message of parental protection and love is an enduring one.

thehatI know we’re well into spring, but Jan Brett’s cute story about a hedgehog and his mishaps with a human family’s laundry is a fun read any time of year. The detailed illustrations in The Hat are what truly make this book and every time I read this book to a child, I can see their eyes light with wonder when they see the beautifully done pictures.

 

 

 

 

———-

 

Also shared at

Strangers and Pilgrims on Earth
4 thoughts on “The Childrens’ Shelf – 14 Months Old

  1. Glad you’re back! I hope everyone is okay.

    These look like such sweet books. I saw Only God Can Make a Kitten at the Christian bookstore, and the illustrations in it really are sweet. Sadly, all my younger siblings are past the picture book stage.

    Like

  2. Greate article. Keep posting such kind of
    information on your blog. Im really impressed by it.

    Hello there, You have performed an incredible job.
    I will definitely digg it and for my part suggest to my friends.
    I am confident they’ll be benefited from this site.

    Like

Leave a Reply

