Leaning on the Everlasting Arms

IMG_2322“What a fellowship, what a joy divine, leaning on the everlasting arms..”

As soon as I saw the prompt of “relief” for this week’s Five Minute Friday, the words of this much-loved hymn sprang to mind. Great earworm for the rest of the day!

Because yes, leaning on those everlasting arms of God is such a relief to me. This year has brought much change – new house, becoming a new mom, serious medical issues for baby, getting my work-at-home running full-steam (or at least as full-steam as it’s going to get while I mother a toddler), and lots of change throughout my family as folks welcome new members, receive challenging diagnoses, send kids off to school and so on.

It feels like my world has turned upside down and some days, just thinking about life in my family or about events in our world today overwhelms me. It’s too much for one person to process alone.

But, as I pray and sink into Scripture, God shows me one thing again and again. No matter how terrible the challenges, God’s people never face them alone. We are called to come unto Him and find rest for our souls. When we are afraid, we put our trust in Him. Over and over, the Bible proclaims God’s faithfulness.

Thanks to Sheryl Sandberg’s popular book, the phrase “lean in” is everywhere. Frankly, I feel best when I lean into God’s promises of peace and relief.

6 thoughts on “Leaning on the Everlasting Arms

  1. I have never considered where the term “lean in” might come from. I get a sweet image when I consider your words of leaning into the arms of his love. I am so happy to know that it brings so many people relief and joy. Thank-you, a FMF neighbor.

    Like

  2. Hmmm… what a beautiful hymn. It truly is too much to process alone. Often times I ponder how our world is doing and I wind up feeling a range of emotions. Yet, I need to rest upon my comforter. He is so good at providing relief. I should not stress over all of life’s craziness, instead I should walk by faith.

    Like

  3. Beautiful post! Amazing how the Lord has been teaching us the same lessons that we have blogged about! Learning to lean is a difficult lesson for our “do it my way” mentality, but once we learn that His ways are best, it does bring relief and great peace to do that! Blessings and hugs to you today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

